Blossom Possum Out & About: Home By Land and Tree

I set out for home on a sunny morning and headed for the hills. No fancy planes, boats or cars this time, just me and my super getting-about-powers of feet, tail and senses. Okay, okay –  I do have to admit to just a little vehicular help, just to get on my way.
blossom-heading-homeHere I am getting close to my drop-off point in a valley not far from home. I can already see there have been lots of changes since I left in February – for one thing, things are much greener than before. Did I miss some rain?

img_1357Once on the ground, I had to get my bearings – up a tree. Where else? I am after all arboreal! It took a while to climb this Euc. – I think I’m out of practice but that’s okay, I can see I’ll get plenty soon. The woodlands are just across this field. The sun is getting high now so the field crossing can wait. Some leaves and a snooze in the canopy is next on the agenda.

I set out again at dusk and along the way I met a few of the locals who tried to fill me in on what I missed.
img_1378Apparently, there’s been quite a bit of rain and there’s lots of grass to eat (if you like grass). Personally, I prefer fruit and flowers with a few nuts and seeds thrown in for good measure. The leaves I ate this morning just didn’t hit the spot so I set out to find some Blossom food.

img_1364_2img_1367

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here I am having a snack in an Allocasuarina verticllata.  I thinks its also called a Drooping Sheoak – maybe because you have to sometimes droop from your tail to reach the juiciest or nuttiest bits. This little group of trees were great for foraging.

I kept moving and foraging over the next few nights until I knew I was getting really close to home. I found the family lookout to our valley early one morning.
blossom-possum-view-creekHere I am looking around – there was always a bit of water about but I’m pretty sure you couldn’t hear it from here before.
blossom-possum-view-creek-second-dam3Looks okay but a bit wetter. I’ll just have to go down and see. Hope they’re all happy to see me home again!

blossom-possum-string-of-ponds1Mmm… this was barely a trickle when I left… but a bit of water doesn’t scare me! Looks like I’m gonna get wet feet.
blossom-possum-second-dam4Well, maybe a bit more than wet feet!  Lucky I’m a good swimmer…

blossom-possum-string-of-ponds3…and my leaping is simply phenomenal (even if I do say so myself).

Well I finally made it home – was there ever any doubt?
blossom-possum-second-dam1Here I am in our home valley looking at the small string of ponds that has now become something quite impressive. I never knew we had so much water here? Lots of rain clearly. Someone will just have to fill me in…possum-on-a-limb…but where is everybody? I’ve been looking everywhere and here I am, in my birth-tree waiting. Its getting a bit too bright to stay out. Perhaps if I call…

possum-and-fatherHere’s Mummy-poss coming to meet me. She’d been waiting all this time to see if I’d show enough poss-sense to get in out of the sun. Apparently not.

Mummy-poss and all the family really were glad to see me and that evening we all celebrated with a feast of our native peach, Quondong (Santalum acuminatum for the botanists out there)…
blossom-possom-possum-quandong2…and a wildflower salad of orchids and lilies and blue-squill and hypoxis and scaevola.blossom-possum-wildflowers3It’s an excellent time to be having a coming-home feast! Best of all, everyone wants to hear all my travel stories from my trip to the Gawler Library on the Adelaide Plains and from there, over the seas and across continents with Xanthe and her family.

img_1359_2Here I am at the entrance of our family Drey (or nest as you might call it). We talked and shared stories through the night. I expect I’ll be heading out soon for the next installment of my Gawler Public Library adventure, looking for books to read and stories to tell- and you know how I love a story or two.

#nature #wildlife #adelaidehills

Leave a Reply

